Print Page | Sign In | Register
James C. Grimm Outstanding New Professional Award
Share |
This award is presented to a new professional in Housing/Residence Life who is within his/her first three years of professional-level employment and has demonstrated outstanding performance to his/her campus and profession, therefore demonstrating potential for a successful and effective career in housing.  The recipient of this award will receive a $1,000 stipend to attend ACUHO-I. In order to be eligible for this financial support, the recipient must be currently employed in housing at a SEAHO institution. Should the recipient not be able to attend the ACUHO-I annual conference and exposition or becomes ineligible based on the criteria state above, the SEAHO President will select from the pool of other nominees for this award and offer accordingly.

Nominations must include:

  • Letter clearly demonstrating outstanding examples of his/her work as a new professional.
  • Letter of support from direct supervisor

Past recipients of the James C. Grimm Outstanding New Professional Award are:

2016: Courtnay Oddman, Emory University
2015: Dan Colascione, University of South Carolina
2014: Falon Thacker, Georgia State University
2013: Sean Johnson, University of Florida
2012: Janine Gascoigne, University of Alabama
2011: Robert Baker, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
2010: Ann Morgenstern, University of Mississippi
2009: Jen Gresley, University of Florida
2009: Shane Tedder, University of Kentucky
2008: Alaina Krebs, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
2007: Eddie Seavers, Christopher Newport University
2006: Robert Davis, University of Alabama
2005: Jasmine Johnson, University of Florida
2004: Ryan Winget, East Carolina University
2003: Melissa McDonald, James Madison University
2002: Chris Moody, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
2001: Stephanie Sue Helmers, University of North Carolina-Wilmington
2000: Jeff Novak, East Carolina University
1999: Gregg Dodd, Coastal Carolina University
1998: Janice Gerweck, University of Florida
1997: Julie McMahon, Murray State University
1996: David Blackburn, University of North Carolina-Charlotte
1995: Marnie Volkenant, University of Southern Mississippi
1994: Diane Porter, Appalachian State University
1993: Terry Flippo, Clemson University
1992: Sara Hoover, Birmingham Southern College

Our Mission

SEAHO advances excellence in housing programs and staff by promoting best practices, networking, professional development and involvement opportunities.