Print Page | Sign In | Register
SEAHO Peace Award
Share |
The PEACE Award (Providing Educational Advocacy for Cultural Excellence) is presented to a member to honor and recognize outstanding contributions and service to the SEAHO region through advancement of diversity and multiculturalism. Such advancement can be attributed to advocacy, leadership, mentorship, educational initiatives, and programming. The recipient must have been a member of a SEAHO institution for at least one full academic year and will have demonstrated exceptional service in the areas of diversity and multiculturalism on their home campus and/or to SEAHO. Examples include:
  • Encouraging members of underrepresented groups to become involved in the housing profession
  • Promoting a greater understanding of diversity issues (racism, ageism, sexism, gay and lesbian concerns, religious differences, persons with disabilities)
  • Presenting programs on topics of diversity and/or multiculturalism
  • Serving as an ally
  • Mentoring members of underrepresented groups
  • Mentoring young professionals in the area of diversity education
  • Supporting the SEAHO Human Relations Committee

Nomination materials must include:     

  • Demonstrated examples from among or related to the list above.

Past recipients of the SEAHO PEACE Award are:

2016: Patricia Jordan, University of Florida 
2015: Dustin Rollins, University of Florida
2014: Todd Clark, Emory and Henry College
2013: Jimmy Whited, Emory and Henry College
2012: Regina Gavin, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
2011: Jay Hinner, Clemson University
2010: Paul Krikau, James Madison University
2009: Ebony Ebron, North Carolina State University
2008: Hassel Morrison, North Carolina State University
2007: Khasseem Davis, George Mason University
2006: Peter Smith, Appalachian State University
2005: Kevin Nunley, Radford University
2004: Michael Collins, Millsaps College
2003: Christopher Gatesman, James Madison University

Our Mission

SEAHO advances excellence in housing programs and staff by promoting best practices, networking, professional development and involvement opportunities.