Print Page | Sign In | Register
Charles W. Beene Memorial Award
Share |

SEAHO's first major award.  At the 1982 SEAHO Conference, the Charles Beene Memorial Service Award was established in memory of Charles Beene, Director of Housing at the University of Mississippi. This award is presented annually to the individual judged to have contributed most to the success of SEAHO during the previous year.

Past recipients of the Charles W. Beene Memorial Service Award are:

Award Year

2016: Bryan Botts, North Carolina State University
2015: Countess Hughes, University of Virginia

2014: Kathy Bush Hobgood, Clemson University

2013: Katrina Pawvluk, College of William and Mary
2012: Ryan Rushing, University of Florida
2011: Scott Nelson, University of Georgia
2010: Azfar Mian, University of Florida
2009: Ralphel Smith, University of Georgia
2008: Gay Perez, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
2007: Heidi LeCount, Meredith College
2006: Steve Stauffer, University of Kentucky
2005: Lisa Diekow, University of Florida & Bob Morton, Georgia Tech
2004: Tom Kane, University of South Florida
2003: Frank Fleming, University of North Carolina-Charlotte
2002: Kathy Schnolis, University of Florida
2001: Vera Jackson, Jackson State University
2000: Tierza Watts, University of North Carolina-Wilmington
1999: Norb Dunkel, University of Florida
1998: Tim Coley, Mercer University
1997: Gretchen Koehler-Shepley, University of South Carolina
1996: Cindy Cassens, Winthrop University
1995: Melanie McClellan, Mississippi State University
1994: Dick Merritt, Auburn University at Montgomery
1993: Gary Kimble, University of Southern Mississippi
1992: Tony Cawthon, Clemson University
1991: Paula Hulick, Murray State University
1990: Gene Luna, University of Georgia
1989: Phil Howard, Clemson University
1988: Robert Kievtz, University of Southern Mississippi
1987: James Grimm, University of Florida
1986: James Bowles, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
1985: Gary Schwarzmueller, Georgia Tech
1984: Robert Stewart, University of South Carolina
1983: Doris Collins, Louisiana State University


Nomination must include:

  • Letter of nomination outlining outstanding contributions.
  • Additional letters are welcome


Our Mission

SEAHO advances excellence in housing programs and staff by promoting best practices, networking, professional development and involvement opportunities.